Make a Difference

Upcoming Events

Parade at Cardinal Stadium:
Students for Bullying Prevention

Share |

Missouri Schools of Character

CHARACTERplus has conducted the Missouri Schools of Character (SSOC) process since 2007, recognizing 86 schools and five districts. Click here for Missouri State Coordinator contact information.

The St. Louis Rams have generously sponsored this rigorous process since 2009, as an integral part of their commitment to youth, fitness and character development in our region. The process mirrors CEP's national procedure as each application is reviewed by two screeners. Each learning community was assessed on every aspect of the Eleven Principles of Character Education, from shared moral leadership to challenging academics that engage all learners to a truly caring school community. Those receiving a qualifying score receive an on-site evaluation from two site visitors. Schools that meet criteria are then forwarded on to CEP for national consideration.

CEP (Character Education Partnership)chose only 44 schools and 4 districts in the country to be 2014 State schools/districts of Character winners. MO. had the largest number in the country with 14 new schools/districts being recognized. In 2014 MO. was only state in the country to pilot this process for Early Childhood Centers. We are happy to announce Southwest Early Childhood Center is the first Early Childhood Center in the country to receive State Schools of Character honor. All of these schools will hold the State Schools/District of Character honor for 3 years. They will be formally honored at the CHARACTERplus National Conference on June 17, 2014.

2014 Missouri Schools of Character

Antonia Middle School, Fox School District
Hiram Neuwoehner High School, Special School District
Lindbergh School District, Lindbergh School District
Margaret Buerkle Middle School, Mehlville School District
Mehlville School District, Mehlville School District
Mill Creek Upper Elementary, Belton School District
Oak Brook Elementary, Parkway School District
Oakville Middle, Mehlville School District
Pond Elementary, Rockwood School District
Prairie View Elementary, Wentzville School District
Robert Sperreng Middle School, Lindbergh School District
Sorrento Springs Elementary, Parkway School District
Southwest Early Childhood Center, Jefferson City School District
Wohlwend Elementary School, Mehlville School District

Missouri Schools of Character Honorable Mention:

Bayless Elementary, Bayless School District
Bayless High School, Bayless School District
Busch Middle School, St. Louis Public School District
Forder Elementary, Mehlville School District
John Cary Early Childhood, Mehlville School District
John Weldon Elementary, Francis Howell School District
Kennard Classical Jr. Academy, St. Louis Public School District
Mesnier Primary, Affton School District
Morgan Selvidge Middle School, Rockwood School District
Oakville High School, Mehlville School District
Raymond and Nancy Hodge Elementary,Fox School District
Reed Elementary, Ladue School District
Saeger Middle School, Francis Howell School District
Santa Fe Trail Elementary, Independence School District
Seckman Middle School, Fox School District
Washington Middle School, Mehlville School District

Emerging Schools of Character:
Windsor High School, Windsor School District

Contact: Suzy Ward at 314.692.1241 or
The application deadline for the 2015 process is December 1, 2014.

It must be sent electronically by December 1, 2014.

CEP will open the online process in August.

Programs/Services | Calendar of Events | Community Support | About CHARACTERplus | CharacterPlus Nat'l Conference | Home
St. Louis Office: 1460 Craig Road, St. Louis, MO 63146 | P: 1-800-835-8282 | F: (314) 692-9788 |
©2014 CHARACTERplus. All Rights Reserved. Diane Kline, Executive Director.
Website Design and Development By Strategic eCommerce Solutions