2020 State Schools of Character

Screen Shot 2020-01-30 at 10.52.26 AM.pn

CharacterPlus®, the longest-running character education initiative in the country, is proud to announce the area’s fourteen schools and one school district named 2020 Missouri and Illinois Schools of Character. These schools and district have demonstrated a focus on character development which has positively impacted academic achievement, student behavior, and school climate. Nationally, 81 schools and seven school districts received the honor this year, as did one international school.


CharacterPlus®, the Missouri affiliate for the State Schools of Character process, evaluates all Missouri schools and districts who apply. This recognition is given to schools who have achieved a standard of excellence in the area of character development through their exemplary implementation of Character.org's 11 Principles of Effective Character Education, a framework for whole-school improvement.

One of the highlights of our year at CharacterPlus® is recognizing the hard work and dedication of these schools. This year’s honorees include:  

Missouri Schools of Character:

Bayless Junior High (Bayless)*
Brown Elementary (Hazelwood)
Cold Water Elementary (Hazelwood)*
Concord Elementary (Lindbergh)
Crestview Middle (Rockwood)
Highcroft Ridge Elementary (Parkway)
James E. Freer Elementary (Windsor)
Oak Brook Elementary (Parkway)*
Oakville High (Mehlville)*
Orchard Farm Elementary (Orchard Farm)
Selvidge Middle (Rockwood)*
Spoede Elementary (Ladue)
Windsor High (Windsor)*
Wren Hollow Elementary (Parkway)

* indicates the school has renewed

its designation after five years

Illinois District of Character:

Harmony Emge School District


Additionally, two Missouri schools received the designation of Honorable Mention this year. They include:

Belton Middle School (Belton)
Hancock Place Middle School (Hancock Place)

Schools named a State School of Character hold the status for five years and are eligible to be considered for National School of Character. If a school is designated a National School of Character, they also hold that designation for five years. National Schools of Character are announced annually in May.


The State Schools of Character program in Missouri is managed by CharacterPlus® and is generously supported by Emerson. CharacterPlus®, located in St. Louis, is a membership-based nonprofit organization committed to equipping school stakeholders with the resources they need to provide high-quality character education. Through CharacterPlus®, schools receive evidence-based development and training in effective character education for school transformation.  


The 11 Principles of Character Education and State Schools of Character are trademarks of Character.org in Washington, DC. Character.org® and CharacterPlus® have been partners in character education since 1993.

For additional information about this recognition or each school’s journey to State School of Character designation, please contact Nicole Diehl, Missouri Schools of Character Coordinator, at ndiehl@characterplus.org.

CharacterPlus® is a 501c(3) organization

1460 Craig Road

St. Louis, Missouri 63146


phone 314.692.1252

EIN 20-5696782