top of page
Computer Learning

2022 National Schools of Character

(May 17, 2022) St. Louis, MO… CharacterPlus®, the longest-running character education initiative in the country, is proud to announce Missouri’s 12 schools and one district named 2022 National Schools and Districts of Character. These schools and district have demonstrated a focus on character development which has positively impacted academic achievement, student behavior, and school climate. Nationally, 50 schools and two school districts received the honor this year.

All of the schools selected as National Schools of Character have demonstrated exemplary implementation of’s 11 Principles of Effective Character Education, a framework for whole-school improvement. This designation lasts for five years. 

One of the highlights of our year at CharacterPlus is recognizing the hard work and dedication of these schools. CharacterPlus member schools and districts historically represent more than 20% of the nation’s National School of Character designees.  

This year, two local schools previously recognized as National Schools of Character reapplied and received the designation for the third time, meaning they have been involved in the Schools of Character process since at least 2012. Those schools are:
Geggie Elementary (Rockwood)
Northview High (Special School District)
2022_NSOC 1.1.png
Five regional schools previously recognized as National Schools of Character reapplied and received the designation for the second time. Those schools are:
Carman Trails Elementary (Parkway)
Green Trails Elementary (Parkway)
Parkway Northeast Middle (Parkway)
Parkway Southwest Middle (Parkway)
Woerner Elementary (SLPS)
2022_NSOC 1.png
The Parkway School District was also recognized as a National District of Character for the second time.
2022_NSOC 1.2.png
Additionally, five schools received the designation of National School of Character for the first time. Those schools are:
Claymont Elementary (Parkway)
Fairway Elementary (Rockwood)
Mason Ridge Elementary (Parkway)
Orchard Farm Early Learning Center (Orchard Farm)
Wright City West Elementary (Wright City)

The Schools of Character program in Missouri is managed locally by CharacterPlus. CharacterPlus, located in St. Louis, is a membership-based nonprofit organization committed to equipping school stakeholders with the resources they need to provide high quality character education. Through CharacterPlus, schools receive evidence-based development and training in effective character education for school transformation.
The 11 Principles of Character Education and State Schools of Character are trademarks of in Washington, DC. and CharacterPlus have been partners in character education since 1993.

For additional information about this recognition or each school’s journey to State or National School of Character designation, please contact Nicole Diehl, Missouri Schools of Character Coordinator, at, or visit us at

bottom of page